Jump to Navigation

Hot Ol' Wadda

Maestro Subgum and the Whole

Hot Ol' Wadda

Maestro Subgum and the Whole

January 19, 2013
Uvulittle Records
CD, Mp3 download

By the early 90s, the creative font that was Maestro Subgum and the Whole erupted with an almost complete turnover in its song catalog. The sound changed significantly with the addition of a regular horn section, although a cappellas still happened, too.

The dual cassettes that came out of the Double Amazement sessions were dubbed Stormin’ And A Fever and Hot Ol’ Wadda. Jenny, Beau, and Miki wrote a lot of the tunes, but new member Bobby Ray contributed a couple of key songs, too.

These masterpieces are available for the first time on disc and there’s enough here to overwhelm yourself for endless hours with Bycyle, Doggy, Old Man Moon, Oh My God It’s So Beautiful, Goddamn the Empty Sky, Gotta Lotta, and many others.

Originally released in 1990. Please note: the original release of Hot Ol' Wadda contained one song that we were unable to license for this collection: "Ballad of Ten Casino Dancers," a translation of a poem by Cecília Meireles set to music by the band.

[ Beau O'Reilly ] [ Blair Thomas ] [ Bob Jacobson ] [ Colm O'Reilly ] [ Jenny Magnus ] [ Kate O'Reilly ] [ Michael Greenberg ] [ Ned Folkerth ]


1 Bycycle 3:49
2 Cherub in the Alley 2:04
3 Operatic Obsession 2:57
4 Jane Says 5:38
5 Gotta Lotta 3:22
6 Sweat An Inch 2:23
7 Turning Wheel 3:24
8 Love Never Showed Up 2:31
9 The Lament of the Workin' Joe's Wife 2:50
10 The Heat 2:58
11 Potato Chip 1:56
12 The Moon Stays The Same 2:08
13 1-2-3 3:10
14 Ape Date 2:46
15 What Did He Do 5:14

Main menu 2

Catalog | by Dr. Radut